This performance has passed.

Follow The Light by Michael Zerang (premiere)

Experimental Sound Studio Presents
by Michael Zerang (Premiere) 2018

Johanna Brock – viola
Anton Hatwich – contrabass
Julie Pomerleau – viola
Jason Roebke – contrabass
Michael Zerang – Queequeg’s Coffin

FOLLOW THE LIGHT is a new work by composer Michael Zerang for string ensemble, featuring his instrument, Queequeg’s Coffin, which has the scale length of a full sized cello, with four strings that are vibrated by a circular, wooden wheel – the same mechanism that sounds a Hurdy Gurdy.

Zerang has completed a series of three studies for the instrument in solo presentations.
This is his first full-length composition for ensemble that features the instrument.

For this work, Zerang will be joined by a quartet of string players that have each contributed to a wide array of styles and approaches in the Chicago musical scene. Violists Julie Pomerleau and Johanna Brock, along with contrabassists Jason Roebke and Anton Hatwich will be performing this sixty-eight minute exploration of shifting time and light via variable energetic drone.





May Chapel at Rosehill Cemetery

5800 N. Ravenswood Ave.
Chicago, IL 60660